James C. Warner Honored as a Pillar of Excellence

Posted: August 3rd, 2017

Memphis, TN (August 3, 2017) – Memphis attorney James C. Warner, with the law firm of Martin, Tate, Morrow & Marston, P.C., will be among a select group of Memphis attorneys and judges to be honored as Pillars of Excellence by the University of Memphis Law Alumni Chapter.

The annual Pillars of Excellence Award recognizes a select group of Memphis-area attorneys and judges who, during at least 40 years of practice, have been recognized as exhibiting the highest degree of legal skill and ethical practice and who have made significant contributions to the legal profession by virtue of their participation and leadership in civic, charitable and bar activities.

Mr. Warner serves as chairman of Martin Tate’s Real Estate Section and concentrates his practice in the areas of real estate, corporate, and general commercial law. He represents developers, shopping center owners, banks and other institutional lenders, landlords and tenants in all aspects of the acquisition, development, financing, leasing and operation of retail shopping centers and malls, office buildings warehouses, industrial sites and other commercial properties.  He is a long-time member of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers and an associate member of the International Council of Shopping Centers. He is a member of the American, Tennessee, and Memphis Bar Associations, and is a Fellow of the American, Tennessee, and Memphis Bar Associations.

Mr. Warner served as a member of the Board of Directors of Bridges, Inc., as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of St. Mary’s Episcopal School in Memphis, and as International President of the Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America, Inc. For the past 25 years, he has served, pro bono, as General Counsel to Harmony Foundation International, Inc., and he also served as its President.

Two other Martin, Tate, Morrow & Marston attorneys have been recognized as Pillars of Excellence. They are: S. Shepherd Tate and the late W. Emmett Marston.

Mr. Warner will be honored during the 2017 Pillars of Excellence Awards dinner, hosted by the alumni board of the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, on August 26, along with other award recipients: Homer Boyd Branan III, the Hon. Julia Smith Gibbons; John I. Houseal Jr., Jim N. Raines, and the Hon. James Dale Todd.

Back to News